Neuromodulation: Technology at the Neural Interface
Official Journal of the International Neuromodulation Society

Welcome to the North American Neuromodulation Society


Presidents Message (Spring 2014)

A Time of Growth and Change

David Kloth, MD

It is with great pride that I begin my term as president of the North American Neuromodulation Society (NANS), during a time when the society is witnessing incredible growth and profound changes in many areas.  In my next several presidential messages, I will update you on these important changes, including the society’s new management structure, technological advancements in the field of neuromodulation, and coverage and reimbursement challenges
for these modalities.

I would like to welcome several new board members who began their terms during the annual meeting this past December. Our two newest directors at large are Joshua Rosenow, MD FAANS FACS, a neurosurgeon from Northwestern University in Chicago, and Michael Saulino, MD PhD, who specializes in physical medicine and rehabilitation at MossRehab in Philadelphia. You can read more about our newest members on page 3. Continuing on the board as a director-at-large is Alon Mogilner, MD PhD, a neurosurgeon from New York University in New York City.

In addition, at this past annual meeting, the NANS board approved a slate of new officers for the society. Joining me on the Executive Committee are Ashwini Sharan, MD, president elect; David Caraway, MD PhD, vice president; Peter Konrad, MD PhD, treasurer; B. Todd Sitzman, MD MPH, secretary; and Ali Rezai, MD, past president. Joshua Prager, MD, will serve as senior advisor to the board. We also approved the addition of several exofficio members to the NANS board. Serving in these roles are Salim Hayek, MD PhD; Konstantin Slavin, MD; and Julie Pilitsis, MD PhD. Robert Foreman, PhD, who will be serving as the first president of the NANS Foundation, also will contribute as an ex-officio member of the board as a liaison between the NANS Board of Directors and the Foundation Board. Continuing their service on the board are Marc Huntoon, MD; Parag Patil, MD PhD; Lawrence Poree, MD PhD; and Richard Rauck, MD.

Read more here

What are your thoughts on Tripole electrode technology and paddle leads?